Video quality too high for my laptop?

Discussion in 'SJ7 Star' started by FishinJoe, Feb 9, 2018.

1. FishinJoe

FishinJoe New Member

Hey again all... noob here with another dumb question

This is my first action camera so I'm playing with free video editors. Too cheap to buy one when I don't know what I'm doing yet.
    I think my little Dell laptop may not have enough GPU juice to properly run a 4K video.

(By the way, I stuck a brand new Sandisk Ultra 128Gb C10 Micro XC card in the camera and it must have automatically formatted to exFAT. At least that's what Windows says it is. I left it alone. It's actually only 119Gb formatted)

So I took a short 26 second video straight out of the box. I copied it onto my laptop and it looks like it was recorded in 4K 30fps. I'm still trying to get used to the cameras controls and settings. I opened the video with Windows Movie Maker and it won't even show up... it just plays but as a black screen. VLC Player won't even touch it.
    So I opened it in VSDC Free Video Editor and at least now I can see the video and hear the audio. Unfortunately it's super choppy and just chops along every 1 second until it's done. So I converted it to 1080p and it plays just fine.

Does this sound like a lame GPU issue (and time to buy a better laptop), or is there something I'm missing? I can download any MP4 video off the interwebs and they'll play fine, but they're all 720 or 1080p. I suppose I can look around for a 4K video and download it to test my laptops capabilities.
    I might throw the video on my sons major gaming machine and see if it plays fine in 4K.
    I'd hate to record all my videos in 1080p if I have 4K available.

Thanks

EDIT: Thinking about it now, I don't have a way to watch a 4K video anyways. None of my TV's are 4K, and 90% of people can't watch 4K either... all I'm doing are regular boring videos for YouTube\Instagram so 1080p is fine. I'll live with it.

Last edited: Feb 9, 2018
  2. RBEmerson