How much 4K and 1080P video on 128GB card?

Discussion in 'SJ7 Star' started by Bob, Feb 1, 2018.

1. Bob

Bob New Member

Sorry if this has been asked before but a search found answers all over the chart so I thought I'd ask it here for my specific camera in case that makes a difference. I have a SJ7 Star camera. I'm new to this but I'm heading out on a trip in about 10 days where I'll be using my camera on my motorcycle.

I'll probably be shooting most of my bike video at 1080P / 60 fps with gyro on. That's based on what seems to be a consensus I'm seeing.

But I'm also curious about what amount of time I could shoot in 4K / 30fps for other stuff.

I'm trying to just get a general idea of what to expect. I have a 64GB card but when I saw how memory is eaten up so fast, I ordered a 128GB card today - one that is verified to work with this camera on another thread in this forum.

2. RBEmerson

RBEmerson Humbled by events

Braggin' on myself more than a little(!), check out my YT channel. All of the Alps videos were shot with an SJ7 shooting 1080@60 fps and using an external power pack. A 128 Gb SD should be enough for a long day of riding, switching off for lunch and coffee breaks, or walking around with a still camera, etc. Put another way, if the helmet came off, the camera was switched off, too. I have some great video of tanking up!

At the time, the SJCam motorcycle case (really a waterproof case with an external power cord) wasn't available. The SJ7 is nowhere near even water-resistant. Look through the empty SD slot and you'll see what I mean. The case is inexpensive insurance against drowning the camera.