Firmware V1.21 comments

Discussion in 'SJ7 STAR Firmware' started by RBEmerson, Jan 17, 2018.

  1. Quennan Davis

    Quennan Davis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Engineer
    Location:
    UNITED STATES (USA)
    Said this in another thread and I'll say it here in hopes SJCAM staff is paying attention


    fairly lackluster update.....

    None of the major requests were even considered it seems (rotation, gyro, power cable removed without shutting off etc)....200 dollar camera that only provides stabilization in 1080p...whereas other cameras with same hardware can accomplish this in most modes aside from 4k/30. Hell...the SJ6 can stabilize in other modes aside from 1080p and that's a camera with less powerful hardware offered by the SAME company.

    Instead the focus of SJCAM staff was to develop more STILL PHOTOGRAPHY features of an ACTION camera. Newsflash SJCAM....when ppl want nice STILLS they don't generally grab their ACTION camera. ACTION is the OPERATIVE WORD here....

    About ready to give up on getting rotation...will just use my SJ7 less frequently. Sadly all my cheaper cameras (SJ7 is third most expensive behind the GoPro Hero 6 and 5 in my collection) can pull this simple function off and the SJ7 looks like it has two left feet when not being able to do this.

    Guess I'll just use my SJ6 Legend until SJCAM adds this basic and common feature that's even on 25 dollar cheapo action cams.
     
    corallino and Apo like this.
  2. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    Good catch!!

    How wonderful of SJCam to let us know it's out, and what final changes were made. NOT!
     
  3. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    @Quennan Davis And people wonder why I keep knocking SJCam. Not only do they have two left feet, but they managed to shoot holes in them. Like you, I'm thinking more and more about a Plan B.

    I'm heading out, shortly, on a 5-6 week road trip in our camper van. Shooting 4K upside down is going to be sooooo not fun.
     
    Quennan Davis likes this.
  4. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    Sigh... V1.21 is a step backwards as a mass storage device. It disconnects after about 5 minutes. The only "fix" is to pull the plug, restart the camera by plugging in. Repeat after about 5 minutes. Wash, rinse, repeat. Not Good.
     
  5. Troy

    Troy Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    10,272
    Likes Received:
    10,082
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Yes, firmware version 1.21 (public release, not beta) is out just yesterday.


    Many of the features that were suggested are in. The fairly recent ones are taking time to be integrated into the firmware
    as some of the requested functions are not sjcam-only limitations. The firmware team is still in talks with the Ambarella guys to make certain things happen.

    I wish I had some say in the development, I can only report wishlists, suggestions, bugs, those kind of things to them.
    Yes, the wishlists do get to them.
     
  6. RaffaelePezzella

    RaffaelePezzella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Photographer
    Location:
    Italy
    Home Page:
    Hi Troy, my ask is where to find a raw converter for the SJ7. :)

    Would you help me please?

    I use the SJ7 Star almost every day for work, I fixed it on my Nikon D7200 as a ultrawide camera, only a few "adjustments" on firmware and I think it will be a perfect 4k/30-RAW stills action camera.
     
  7. Adam Bialas

    Adam Bialas New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    poland
    There You go
    There You go https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Nwok9q01zYnxa-i_UeTtWhebslJYmzVa/view?usp=sharing
     
    RaffaelePezzella and Jason like this.
  8. Jason

    Jason Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Adam Bialas likes this.
  9. RaffaelePezzella

    RaffaelePezzella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Photographer
    Location:
    Italy
    Home Page:
    Wow, thanx a lot. I try it now!!!
     
  10. RaffaelePezzella

    RaffaelePezzella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Photographer
    Location:
    Italy
    Home Page:
    Sadly... it doesn't work properly. All the files are red or green.

    It's unuseful having raw feature without a good converter! :(


    Edit.:

    Just read the readme.txt. Level corrected with fix_levels.bat.

    But I hope in a better converter too...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 7, 2018
  11. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    V1.21 loses 1 (video) frame of audio at the end of the file. I found this while testing the dashcam "looping" function. The end of each file had no audio under the final frame of video.

    This issue was raised prior to V1.20, when two frames were lost. That was enough to produce an obvious click in the soundtrack. The good news is the error is down to 1 frame. The bad news is 1 frame is still missing its audio.
     
    corallino and RaffaelePezzella like this.
  12. Oleg Mukhin

    Oleg Mukhin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Security
    Location:
    USSR, Leningrad
    Hello friends!
    Can I safely return to firmware 1.20 from 1.21?
     
  13. Damian Holt

    Damian Holt Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retail manager
    Location:
    Uk
    Yes no issue at all, just follow the exact same procedure you took to upgrade, I believe the previous firmware files are posted at the bottom of the page for 1.21.
     
    Oleg Mukhin likes this.
  14. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    To thoroughly reset everything but the date and time, reload the same firmware rev.
     
    Oleg Mukhin likes this.
  15. Greltel

    Greltel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I would really like to see image rotation in every resolution in the next build.It's a bit of deal breaker for many people not have the option to rotate the video and still have eis.Firmware 1.21 seems stable for me.
     
  16. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    Trust me, you're preaching to believers. [/wink & grin]
     
  17. Adam Bialas

    Adam Bialas New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    poland
    I have record 1080p at 120 fps in slow-motion https://yadi.sk/d/-Uwy6arr3STpoG the picture is very edgy, just look at the roof of the building. Instead of a continuous roofline, the roofline is in square pixels :( Any solutions for this ???
     
  18. RaffaelePezzella

    RaffaelePezzella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Photographer
    Location:
    Italy
    Home Page:
    The problem is only one: too much sharpness. Sharpness at all costs.

    Even if you set it to "Normal" the sharpness added to frames is excessive, but the setting "Soft" does nothing but deliberately blur the frames. That's why you notice all those artifacts,
    especially at 120 fps.
     
  19. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    120 fps seems to have this problem across the board. My guess is the 120 fps process just isn't ready for use. About the only short-term fix is to add blurring, as needed, in post-production. [/frown]

    Aside from that, the best thing to do is repeatedly beat on SJCam to fix this, too. If they ever find time to do anything, other than spend 100% of their time with RAW. (No - I am not saying drop RAW, I'm saying there are issues which are long overdue to be corrected. RAW should wait for its turn in the development queue.)
     
  20. RaffaelePezzella

    RaffaelePezzella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Photographer
    Location:
    Italy
    Home Page:

Share This Page