Firmware V1.21 comments

Discussion in 'SJ7 STAR Firmware' started by RBEmerson, Jan 17, 2018.

  1. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    I've only done a brief test with the camera acting as a dashcam.

    Shooting at 4K@30 fps, about the only problem is the scenery was somewhat jerky as it crossed the field of view when turning a corner. Some of that may be shooting at 30 fps.

    Shooting at 1080 @ 60 fps produced one major problem: there's no way to invert the image! What's up with that?!?

    The problem with scenery jerking as it crosses the field of view was present in the 60 fps clip, although it was quite as obvious as with 30 fps.

    EIS is good with pitch (nose up and down). Roll (one side of the car dips down) shows little stabilization as does yaw (turning). However I don't think these axis of motion are supposed to be stabilized.

    Overall, the camera didn't crash. It produced the same imagery as V1.20. At least as best I can tell - the test was done in fading light.

    I'll shoot more upside down (grrr...) video over the next few days. I'll also try time lapse and, I guess, try some still shots.
     
  2. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    It's now possible to hot plug external power into the camera. Pulling the external power shuts down the camera. A win for hot plugging, a lose for dropping power.
     
  3. Quennan Davis

    Quennan Davis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Engineer
    Location:
    UNITED STATES (USA)
    still no image rotation in the other modes aside from 4K....major fail

    BTW you were able to plug into the camera while it was on from before and it turned the camera off once pulled; was like that in 1.20.

    I think all they did was add fixes for RAW images....on an action camera mostly dedicated to video recordings. YAY!!!!
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
  4. Quennan Davis

    Quennan Davis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Engineer
    Location:
    UNITED STATES (USA)
    So should we just kiss image rotation goodbye (it just being in 4k without stabilization is a let down because the Ambrella chip can do more)???? It's a shame because I have cheaper, lower quality and less capable cameras that ALL manage this BASIC feature.

    Raw support is nice...but most purchased an action camera for video....not stills. Image rotation is crucial to a lot of users needs.

    Please provide the community with image rotation in all 1080p modes WITH STABILIZATION
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
    Andrey2018 and corallino like this.
  5. VeoonPL

    VeoonPL New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    EIS was better in 1.20.
    Unless it's beta fault.
     
  6. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    Why, why, why are subsequent versions of 1.21 using the same name, and the two folders, to date, use the same name??? This is just plain stupid.

    Understood that the big item is RAW. NTL, hot plugging external power is new. That's why I'm puzzled about why hot unplugging goes unsupported.

    Failing to support inverting across all resolutions and frame rates is an major failure.

    An added semi-gripe: After installing 1.21.0 (added .0 to separate from the next iteration of the fw) and after installing 1.21.1, the camera powers up, looks good to go, but powers down and then back up. After that, no problems. No damage is done - it's not a bug, it's a nit.
     
  7. Jason

    Jason Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK

    All image rotation seems do do is rotate the menus and overlay display. The actual image doesn't seem to be affected (except for the time stamp) and still needs to be rotated in the editing software
     
  8. Quennan Davis

    Quennan Davis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Engineer
    Location:
    UNITED STATES (USA)
    Wow so it's utterly useless....

    Crazy considering they have rotation on cameras with the less powerful Novatek chip (SJ6)
     
  9. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    Well that's lame. I guess getting the stamp right is useful. But not inverting the whole thing? Lame...
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2018
  10. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    The latest V1.21.1 (my numbering) "pull the battery" crashed on me once this afternoon. Other than that, it seems stable at 1080@60 fps. One small improvement: the lurching or stuttering for objects moving across the field of view seems to be cured.
     
  11. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    Oh yeah, and the company logo in the watermark is the old one.
     
  12. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    The internal mic was set to OFF and sounds almost as though it was 100% on.
     
  13. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    Setting the menus with the setup, power, and shutter buttons is broken - A long push on the power button doesn't skip to the tools menu. It shuts the camera down, as if the camera isn't in setup mode.
     
  14. Jason

    Jason Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Navigating using the keys works fine for me, including the long press of the shutter.
     
  15. Jason

    Jason Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    By the way, I was able to plug in a power bank when the camera was turned on in the previous version.
     
  16. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    V1.20 or V1.21?
     
  17. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    That's very weird. V1.21.0 was OK with buttons, but V1.21.1 won't do it. [/head scratch]

    ADDED: poster is utterly clueless on this one. Ignore the comment.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2018
  18. Jason

    Jason Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    V1.20
    I didn't see anything better or worst than 1.20 when checking them side by side (the benefit of accidentally pre-ordering one from 2 different vendors - don't drink and shop) except having the RAW - the 1.21r2 seemed to fix some sort of bug in 1,21r1 (I can name them too but mine go forwards ;) ) but I haven't checked that one out yet.
     
  19. Jason

    Jason Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Just installed the update and tried the navigation - still working for me on the newest.
     
  20. RBEmerson

    RBEmerson Humbled by events

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SE PA USA
    Odd... in my case V1.21r2 was a step back from r1. It's hard to give really meaningful troubleshooting and debugging input when who knows if all SJ7's are the same or there are X number of production changes. If the latter, maybe my camera acts differently than your camera. Grrrr...
     

Share This Page