DP Bright Adjust ???

Discussion in 'SJ5000 Series' started by Lazaros Filippidis, Jan 29, 2018.

  1. Lazaros Filippidis

    Lazaros Filippidis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Hi Guys,

    sometimes while I am taking photographs my SJ5000X Elite displays the message:

    DP Bright Adjust
    Pleas Wait...

    What does this mean? Why does it do it? After a while I get prompted to turn the camera off.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Damian Holt

    Damian Holt Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retail manager
    Location:
    Uk
    I’ve not seen this at all but in fairness I’ve not used mine that much recently.

    @Troy any ideas?

    Have you raised a ticket?
     
    Lazaros Filippidis and Troy like this.
  3. Troy

    Troy Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    10,272
    Likes Received:
    10,082
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Ah. That's the Hot Pixels Fix.
    What it does is it forces all pixels of the sensor to max out, then come back to normal.
    If you see white dots on images taken in the dark or on low-light, those are small errors in judging light (Brightness Adjustment) being recorded by those pixels, which often appear as small white spots. "Hot Pixels" only happen in digital cameras.

    DP Bright Adjust/Hot Pixels Fix is activated in older firmware by long-pressing the shutter button. Best that you do this in complete darkness, and or covering the lens so it doesn't get any light in and register false-positives. Test it out first so you know how long it takes before you actually perform it.

    Think of it as "reset sensor sensitivity". Also, you don't have to do this all the time.

    TIP: In the dark, if you really have to take a photo or when doing long exposure, raise the ISO even just up to about 400.

    Thanks @Damian Holt for the nudge. :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2018
  4. Lazaros Filippidis

    Lazaros Filippidis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    @Troy, thank you very much for the reply (and @Damian Holt for the notification).

    it now makes sense. Perhaps I have been holding the shutter button for longer time than normal in some cases.
     
    Damian Holt likes this.
  5. Makaki

    Makaki New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    How is this managed in newer firmware?

    Because I would suggest the feature be moved to where it would be less likely to be activated accidentally. A lot of other cameras have their auto-focus feature trigger when you long press (on the first pressure point). So instinctively I sometimes try to mimic that and enter the DP Bright Adjust instead. Also you have to long press to turn on the camera, so sometimes you end up long pressing both the power and then the shutter button.

    Somewhere within the SETUP menu, sounds good.
     
    Lazaros Filippidis likes this.
  6. Lazaros Filippidis

    Lazaros Filippidis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Good idea.
     

Share This Page